h1

Earning His keep and Other Lighthearted Thoughts

July 16, 2007

I know. Hard to believe, right. Lighthearted? Me?

Well, seems ‘Friday the Thirteenth’ turned out to be a not so bad day.

Instead of being like this:

It turned out to be more like this:

I know that I swore I wouldn’t talk potty until it actually happened…but guess what? It happened! (**Insert happy dance here**) Since Friday, July 13th 2007 to today…Monday, July 16th, 2007…We have had dry (and might I add quite colorful panties) on…and we have been putting our pee in the pot.

I know. Can you stand it?

I can’t either.

Wanna know how we did it?
Yup! Dopey.

We threatened to get rid of him if she didn’t start using the pot. And she did. Talk about fighting for what you believe in!

So she’s been dry since. Puttin’ the pee in the proper receptacle and….And poopin’! Because you know, my kid is a genius! (I can’t believe how it just friggin’ clicked this weekend!)

She wanted to wear her panties but she wouldn’t pee in the pot. So we had to take drastic measures. Seems Dopey is worth more than I give him credit for. Never underestimate the love of a puppy.

Wish us luck. There’s no turning back now. It’s panties or bust.

I was just on the phone with a friend telling her how the dreaded PT was nonexistent. And that day she started.

Trust me, there were tears in the beginning. But once she realized she could do it….There was no stoppin’ her.

She’s all “Mommy I have to pee!” Mommy I have to poop!” and we run to the pot and she sits and goes…Like she’s been doing it her whole entire life.

I guess there’s truth in what they say about letting her do it on her own time. When she’s ready!

And she’s so proud! I’ve never seen her light up as much!

Oh! My girlie!

That’s all I’m gonna say about that subject for now. (I don’t want to overdo it) But you all know how happy this makes me…

********************

On an even lighter note: Last night, The Pro and I took in a show. Yes!

We saw Travis at Irving Plaza and it was so awesome.

I am more in love with this band now than ever before. We’ve seen them there once before but I didn’t know them all that well back then. And the last time they played there, Fa was a newborn and I was too messed up to go…

They rocked!

Fran Healey is absolutely brilliant. A showman! A musician! A songwriter…All of it.

And I got to see them play live!

They came out in colorful boxer’s robes to the Rocky theme through the audience and started paying this:

And then two hours later, they ended with this song again and This guy (Demitri Martin) did this exact skit on stage with them…Too friggin’ cool!

They played two whole hours of kick ass songs and The Pro and I boogeyed and shook our hineys and our throats are hoarse and it was phenomenal!

Now I’m tired and I’m being paged to go potty!

Ah! The small things in life. Yes?

25 comments

  1. Fun blog. Thanks for sharing. And thanks for your comment on mine. You’re right, genealogy is truly fascinating. I’ll post more later in the week–how-to tips and other interesting stuff.


  2. Yay for the potty! I’m so delighted for you, and it gives me hope!

    Too bad you’re stuck with the dog now though!


  3. Well, isn’t that something? Finally!!!! Of course, you know that means there’s no getting rid of the dog now, right?

    Travis is outstanding. I would love to see them live.


  4. Yay for using the potty!! Now, just wait until she starts singing while you wipe her butt.


  5. Congratulations. I’m glad you figured out something that worked for you. I know it’s been difficult, but in the end, it all worked out.

    (Note to self: set timer to see how long it takes before the “how long do I have to wipe her ass over the toilet before I can make her do it herself?” posts start.) 😉


  6. Pee pee in the po-tty! Pee pee in the po-tty!

    *happy dancing*

    Congrats!


  7. Yay! And all because you didn’t get rid of that adorable dog! 😉


  8. Rock on! I knew you would fall off the wagon and talk “shit”. I’m glad you did. I live for potty talk. I’m immature.


  9. WOO-HOO!!!!!!!!!! I knew it would happen! It’s that d*mn light switch everyone keeps talking about….you DO NOT want to hear about it…but once it flips…bring on the the potty using! I am so happy for you!

    See….and you thought the dog was worthless! 🙂


  10. Woo hoo!!!

    Now you gotta keep the dog!


  11. I love this lighthearted thing, too! Made me want to do a little dance


  12. Oh Oh Oh!!! How Exciting!!!! I am so happy for you and Fa!!!! Hmmm using the household pet as a motivator … I will have to remember that trick!


  13. Woooooooooooo HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO for Fa!!! And triple-quadruple Woooooooooooo hoooooooooooooooooo for you!!!!


  14. I am SO happy for you!!! Its amazing, huh? How one day they’re just ready!


  15. HALLELUJAH!

    Praying for consistency! WOOHOO!

    XOXO


  16. woohoo! biggest congrats – I’m so happy (okay, and jealous!). that is truly an awesome weekend. AND to add Travis in too?? now I definitely am jealous!


  17. Wahhh hoooo!

    Yay…
    see… Artie IS good for somethin!!

    Congrats…I know you’re excited!


  18. Hurray! I’m so happy for you. It’s amazing how quickly it’ll click, isn’t it?


  19. good for her! isn’t that always the way? just when you decide to stop fretting over it, it happens. 🙂


  20. I’m so ready for my little man to be potty trained….
    so jealous…


  21. WWWOOOO–HHHOOOOO!!!!

    Wonderful news!

    Congrats to your sweety-pie! and her better placed mud-pies. 😉


  22. I am green with envy. Or would that be yellow? My daughter was ALMOST potty trained several months ago and then have a chronic case of the poops and will not go near the potty now. Count your blessings!


  23. this is what amanda just went thru with her little girl. FINALLY! The kid just wasn’t interested. I kept telling her to chuck the pull ups and put her in something that would make her very aware of her #1 and #2. Well, she ran out of $ one day and ended up putting undies on her. Thats all it took.


  24. Congratulations! Now you’ve joined the club where you have to sprint to the bathroom at a moments notice…why don’t kids feel their pee building???


  25. WOOHOOOO!! Those potty training days scare me.



Leave a Reply

