h1

I can’t help but giggle…

July 20, 2007

Chelle, the world’s bestest Mamma graced me with this wonderful award:


It says this: Schmoozing is the natural ability “to converse casually, especially in order to gain an advantage or make a social connection.” Good schmoozers effortlessly weave their way in and out of the blogosphere, leaving friendly trails and smiles, happily making new friends along the way. They don’t limit their visits to only the rich and successful, but spend some time to say hello to new blogs as well. They are the ones who engage others in meaningful conversations, refusing to let it end at a mere hello – all the while fostering a sense of closeness and friendship.

___________________________________________

And this is why I giggle. I am NOT a schmoozer. At least not in real life. Actually, I am the polar opposite of what a schmoozer really is in real life. I am so uncomfortable in public situations…especially if I am not surrounded by people I know that I literally become a wall flower. I grow roots too. I stay in pretty much one spot until it’s time to leave.

Unless I have the safety of The Pro or close friends, I hate to go to parties, bar-b-cues…anything that requires actual conversation or dialogue with people….and striking up a conversation! Being the first one to speak… Never!

I watch the Pro talk to just about anyone and I don’t understand how he does it. He doesn’t just say “How ’bout this weather we’re having!” or “Nice car!” He stays. And chats. Sometimes for hours…I just can’t do that. Once I get passed “Hi”…I’m pretty much done.

So this is why this award means a little more to me than you think.

Blogging has cracked my shell. It has removed me from being that wall flower and helped me to see that I can make friends and I actually do have something worthwhile to say…Maybe not every time, but some times…

And now, I can even walk into a crowded room and not feel so self conscious..I guess it’s because I’m always looking for something juicy to blog about instead of worrying if my outfit makes me look fat.

And Chelle actually gave me the greatest compliment yet…She says I’m a good commenter.

You know what? That makes me feel good because I really do try.

I have been moved to tears and fits of laughter by bloggers and I truly feel something for every post I read.

I try to comment on every blog I visit and show the author that I have read their words and they are important to me and I understand where they may be coming from…

Because it feels good to me when people do that here…I want to help others feel good. Help others to know they are not alone. Let others see that I get them. Even if I don’t totally agree with what they say. They mean something. They have taken the time to write thoughts that means something to them..the least I can do is acknowledge it.

Blogging has also connected me to others. It has helped me to feel not so alone, not so weird in this crazy world and it has given me that voice that I was searching for all of these years…The people at THIS party are the coolest ever!

So I like to let them know they move me…

I need to get doing this in real life…huh? Yeah, probably so.

And Chelle…Oh! Chelle. She motivates me to be a better person, mother and blogger every post she writes. She’s enthusiastic even in times of stress and has shown me that motherhood is the best thing ever…really! I am in awe of her strength and love for her gorgeous family!

Thank you so very much, my friend for awarding this special kinda bling…It means so much.

I don’t know if I’m supposed to tag one person or six…so I’m picking one person specifically who I think deserves this award due to the sheer ‘schmoozefactor’ of it all.

Mrs. SlackerMommy! Here’s to you. You have been a wonderful commenter here and a wonderful blogger since I have met you and I want you to know that I ‘schmooze you’. You always seem to make me laugh and cry and feel so not alone all in one post. I still don’t know how you do it all??!! And, you write from the heart. You are honest and real and you don’t sugarcoat it. I love that. It’s hard to do.

Now, it’s your turn to spread the love…however you feel you’d like to do that.

Thank you very much.

10 comments

  1. Well, isn’t that something? There is someone else out there in the blog world who “talks” much more here than in real life.

    Don’t feel bad. All the “cool” people are like that!!!!

    🙂


  2. Awwww, thank you. I’m humbled. This means so much to me coming from you. I heart you!


  3. You are one of the best schmoozers I know! I know I always look forward to your comments, they mean a lot to me.
    Congrats, friend!


  4. Congrats. It couldn’t have gone to a more deserving person.
    I have to say you’ve moved me with your posts and comments on numerous occasions!


  5. See I am not the only one that knows you are all deserving 🙂

    Thank you for all the kind words. I get some of my strength from friends like you.


  6. Congratulations – you old schmoozer you 😉


  7. I agree; I think you’re a great commenter! And totally deserving of a cool award!


  8. I like to leave calling cards too…. just so they’ll know I was by.

    Calling cards were used during Victorian times. There was quite a bit of protocol involved as well.


  9. Congrats! Well deserved, schmoozy!


  10. I used to be like you as well, terrified in social situations, I loathed them with a passion. I’m much better now, even willing to go to a blogher conference where I technically know nobody.

    What I’ve found is people like to talk about themselves, just ask a few questions and listen. It’s amazing, try it.



Leave a Reply

