h1

Don’t be a Boobie…

July 24, 2007

From Anal Glands to Secondary Female Glands…

Went for my yearly yesterday.

This appointment begins my yearly check up even though I am 35.

I got my first mammo at 30 because of the history in my family.

I hate these things.

I cry every time I go and I fear the worst. But I think of my mother and my daughter and my husband and gorgeous women like this and I go. For them and for me. It pays to stay observant.

And I wasn’t even gonna write about it but…

I read this yesterday and I want you to read it too…Go. I’ll wait. Then come back.

Isn’t she amazing? I am in love with her.

Mammograms aren’t the only way to check yourself.

Stay on top of this stuff. It’s mandatory. (Click that link, I put it there for a reason)

I never used to deal with it. I used to ignore it because I (still) have this fear that it is inevitable for me. But I am learning slowly that if I keep on it, I can take preventive measures for many things….

Did you know there is a blood test you can take to see if you are a ‘carrier‘ of breast cancer?

What do you think of that? Would you take it if it were a possibility? What would you do if you happen to be a carrier? What is the preventive steps after you get the results of that test?

The Mammographer asked me if I was taking that test yesterday. So nonchalantly. It threw me. Her aloof attitude made me queasy. Especially after she told me I was extremely cystic! Like it was nothing. These are my boobas lady…handle them with care!

So I cried before the screening and I cried after. And now I will pray they don’t call me in for more images. They always ask for more images. Always.

And I will begin to check myself monthly.

Yes. I will begin.

Because I have not done it regularly. Ever. Once maybe. That’s it. I know.

But I won’t be a hypocrite. I will check myself if it means you will check yourself.

Pinky swear.

Click to enlarge…or go here and print it out)
15 comments

  1. go girl. I have to remind myself all the time.

    It’s amazing how something as “routine” can get you all stressed. It’s because there is nothing “routine” about all the memories and heartache and other women’s stories that go thru your brain travel WITH you.

    I hope you have a clean bill of health, and that we both stay healthy until we are old farts.

    XOXO


  2. IBC is really scary. When I had a question about it once, my old doctor LAUGHED…like I was an idiot to think that could POSSIBLY be the problem. Then his student ASKED WHAT THAT WAS! Oy.

    I switched doctors.


  3. Okay. I pinky swear.


  4. You’re doing the right thing. Keeping a regular schedule and checking yourself is good – for you and everyone else.


  5. Scary stuff. But information is the key isn’t it.

    I’m in for a pinky swear. I haven’t been doing it regularly.


  6. I get what you’re going through. We have horrid B cancer in our family. I’m 31, I’ve had 2 mammo’s, 3 breast u/s… and every time I have one done I convince myself something bad will turn up.

    We are pretty macabre wouldn’t you say? LOL.


  7. Pinky swear 🙂 I love that.
    I went in for a mammo a few months ago for the same reason. Of course at first they didn’t want to do it because I’m 34 but once I explained my history they approved it.
    The one thing several docs have explained to me is that until you’re 40 your breast tissue is so dense it is very hard to see everything. So potentially you’re lulled into a false sense of security…Aaaahhh it’s all so maddening and so scary. But I’ll still continue to go get checked.
    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you, friend!


  8. *hugs*

    I pinky swear 🙂


  9. Thanks for this. We need to know…and be reminded.


  10. Thank you. I’m well overdue. Maybe I should shift it further up on the ‘to do’ list.
    Cheers


  11. I am the mammogram queen round these parts.

    I am so happy you are on top of it.

    scary yes, everytime. But better than being caught by hideous surprise.


  12. I am pretty good about the yearly … I had a biopsy on my cervix years ago and that pretty much freaked me out enough to see the doc once a year. Never have had a mammogram …

    Sending clean bill of health vibes …


  13. Information is the key…
    and I have been told about a blood test that helps in early detection of cervical cancer… as the pap smear is not enough…


  14. I check once a month – you should too. I’ve been doing it forever.

    Don’t make me email you to remind you. Cuz I will. And I will be a cranky girl about it.


  15. You know, I just blogged about breast cancer to get advice on what I should do to help a surviving family. Maybe you could help me figure it out…



Leave a Reply

