h1

What’s up Doc?

August 9, 2007

Fa has her physical for school today.

She hates the doctor.

Despises all of them.

Won’t even let the nurse take her temperature with the forehead monitor.

I am preparing her early.

She’s already fighting me.

It’s her physical.

For school.

Did anyone get that?

She’s going to pre-K five days a week.

I will be alone for three hours, five days a week.

What to do?

Part of me is ecstatic. Part of me is dreading it.

I am not ready to let her go.

But I am so happy that she will experience the joy and the pleasure of independence and learning.

I am not ready…

Or am I?

16 comments

  1. You are SO ready babe. You need this as much as her. Maybe you can do some part time teaching or subbing to keep your sanity?


  2. It will be good for both of you! Good luck at the doctor!


  3. Sweet Freedom! YES!


  4. You’ll be fine. My nephew started kindergarten this week. He did not want to go at first.

    My sister-in-law picked him up yesterday after his first day, and his first sentence was, “I was good today.”

    I guess that’s better than the alternative, huh?


  5. You are and so is she


  6. Is it half day or full day?

    Having time to just do whatever you need to do without children is an awesome thing. It’s almost weird at first, being in the house by yourself…you will quickly adjust though!

    Plus she will grow and learn leaps and bounds this next year. You will be awed by what she learns in “school”.


  7. I, on the other hand, signed Fat Baby up for three-day-a week pre-school (full day). I am counting the freaking hours. He is K.I.L.L.I.N.G. me! He really needs military pre-school, but I can’t find one that will let him go if he’s not potty trained! πŸ˜‰ But he is my baby, and part of me is a little sad, too. But not that sad!

    As far as Fa’s fear of the doc go…make sure that The Pro absolutely goes with you to the five year appointment. It’s a bitch.


  8. You’re ready you just don’t know it yet!


  9. Well, you know I’m torn. I feel ya, girl!


  10. I’d imagine a little of both is appropriate!

    Really they have physicals for Pre – K. We have to have provide vaccination records for preschool but nothing else. I guess its different, everywhere huh!


  11. Wow … I think I would be as love it/hate it as you. I want her to have her own thing but want her to stay with me forever.

    Then there are THOSE days when I wish she had started college already!


  12. You are ready. So is she. And you really are. You may not know it, but you are. πŸ™‚


  13. Best of luck with the physical! I think you’ll (both) be fine. It’ll just take some getting used to.


  14. You will both be fine. At first, be prepared to miss her. Once you get used to it, you will enjoy having the alone time and it will only make you enjoy your time with her even more. Trust me..lol.


  15. It will be weird at first but you will get used to it. Those hours will go by so fast.


  16. It’s tough the first week or so…but then I think you’ll start to enjoy it. You can get your hair done, a mani, a pedi, go shopping, get some good “me time”…



Leave a Reply

