h1

U Comment/ I Follow

August 23, 2007

Can someone please explain this to me.

I followed the directions to remove the “nofollow command” in my template and I think I understand it. But I’m not sure. I even put the cutesy little button in my sidebar.

Does this mean I can answer any comment that is left here now, as opposed to only the comments that are attached to e-mail addresses?

Izzy? Anyone?

By the way. Fa wants to know: “When I bust RT’s chops, where are his chops?”

Can anyone answer that question too while we’re all here.

I need some assistance.

15 comments

  1. Q1: U Comment/I Follow means that you have enabled popularity listing services to use your comments when looking at links on your site. (In other words, if I leave a comment on your site with my link in it, my technorati rating increases because your site registers as a linking site.)

    Q2: “Chops” has meant one’s jaw for quite a while, so busting them means to hit someone in the jaw. It’s become an expression for verbal taunting in recent colloquial use.

    (ref: http://www.phrases.org.uk/bulletin_board/12/messages/156.html)


  2. Wow leave it to the Dad to have the most analytical answer.

    err what he said πŸ˜›


  3. Just means that the link they leave with their comment registers with trackers such as technorati.

    Chops – jaw.

    πŸ˜‰


  4. I’m 0 for 2 on those bad boys…


  5. No clue on both! Sorry! How ya been?


  6. You got it to work?? Every time I try to delete the thing, it gives me an Error 404 page.

    I’m so computer impaired.


  7. I have do-follow at my site, and it means that everyone who comments gets an actual link, just by commenting. So, yeah. I’ve enjoyed it. I feel like I’m giving back a tiny bit when people do me the honor of commenting at my place. I think it’s tricky with Blogger blogs, because a lot of the people who comment here are using their google ID, which leads to a profile page and NOT to an actual blog. The way around this is for people to use the “other” option in your comment field and type in their names and their full URL, thus creating a link to their actual blog, not to a profile page. πŸ™‚


  8. Good question by Fa.

    When you figure out the answer, please let me know!


  9. Yup, what Dad said!


  10. RT’s chops don’t need to be busted!!!! πŸ™‚ Sorry I haven’t been around…. I’ve been visiting, just not commenting.


  11. I’m glad you posted this because I wasn’t exactly sure what it means. I get it now.


  12. I am glad others could help with the first question because I was clueless…lol. (as usual)

    As far as “chops” I knew it was someone’s jaws…does it mean that I am old since I knew the answer to that??? lmao.

    Have a great day.


  13. I’ve always wondered about the chops thing myself…lol

    Re: No follow/Do follow

    What it means is that you have now given the gift of a link to your readers. Whereas before, when they left a comment, the “no follow” tag meant that search engines would ignore their URL link but now they will not ignore it. Google will take note of it and give that blogger the credit of having a link, which helps boost their Google Pagerank.

    You get the same benefit when you leave your URL on a do-follow blog, like mine, for example. The idea is that if everyone does it, we all benefit. Hope his helps!


  14. well, so much for me coming over to answer – it’s all been done! that’s okay, ‘cuz I had no idea about question 1.

    Question 2, I was going to go with jaw, too, because I’d always associated “chops” with “mutton chops” – but I could have totally made that up. Nice to know I’m not the only one!


  15. Twas originally a way from preventing spammers from accumulating Backlinks. The U Comment/I Follow removes this prevention and combines it with rigorous comment moderation.



Leave a Reply

