h1

I know it’s Saturday…

December 1, 2007

See my header?
I’ve been playing around with blog tools.

I’m bored with blogger and I’m hoping it’s just blogger that I’m bored with. So….

I’m thinking of getting my own domain….like from WordPress.org or something like that.

I need help.

I’ve played around on WordPress and Typepad. I’ve even exported my blogger posts/comments over to see how it all works.

I’m not comfortable on either site yet…seems like it’s way more complicated than Blogger.
I’m an internet dope.

Whaddya suggest?

1. I was having trouble adding HTML images and links in my sidebars. Seems not to work. Or I just don’t know how.

2. I can’t even begin to change around the layouts…I’m a dope remember? I made up this new header and like it, but I can’t seem to make it look good in WP or TypePad.

3. I only know blogger and I’m afraid of change.

4. I have to PAY for a personal domain! What if I can’t make it my “own”?

5. Which one should I give my hard earned money to?

6. Am I thinking too much? Should I just stay where I am? I’m not like a blogging Master…I really only do this to vent and keep in touch with my buddies.

Anyone out there wanna offer some advice?

***

Thank you Ms. FussyPants…Much obliged!

8 comments

  1. I have actually been considering the same thing, and I have many of the same questions.

    If you find some kind-hearted “expert” willing to share some answers, please let me know.


  2. I am working on a WordPress blog right now. I am not going to purchase my own domain name, but I am going to pay $15 for a year of Custom CSS upgrades. I think the template you pick, you have to make your masthead the size of the one that is already there. You can do that in Photoshop or whatever you use, or I can do it for you! Just where it says you can upload a custom header, it will tell you what size you can use. Hope that helps.

    I love that you can import your blogger entries, and have a few private users!


  3. I’m a wordpress lover myself. I suggest buying a domain name you want anyway, just through a hosting company, and then you can use any blog software you want and change anytime without being tied to anything but your domain name. At least that’s what worked for me!


  4. Personally, before I got my own domain…I switched over to WordPress and it was waaay better than Blogger.

    Just my opinion.


  5. CSS and HTML gives me diarrhea of the brain.

    I avoid it.

    I’m no help.


  6. wordpress.
    love.


  7. love the multiple pages on wordpress, love the ease of use, love the templates!

    hate the fact that I can’t add as many goodies as I’m used to! I have been know to indiscriminately stick things in my blogger sidebars – can’t do that here! Maybe there’s a way, but I haven’t figured it out yet 😦

    but, I’ve still moved two of my three blogs over and am seriously looking at moving the third…

    enjoy!


  8. as i said before, i love WordPress. i had a lot of problems with Blogger “losing” posts and crap like that. WordPress does take a bit of getting used to, and you can’t use the fancy java script widgets unless you are hosted (wordpress.org), but other than that, it RAWKS!

    i own my own domain (monkeysandmarbles.com), and already have WordPress forwarding it to my wordpress blog. but i would like to be hosted, and i’m still looking for host that satisfies my needs. i thought i found the perfect one, until i read the fine print and it said that it was forbidden to use any profanity in the content of your blog…um…i don’t be thinking so!

    being hosted does give you the most freedom and power over your site. even if you don’t know what you are doing, there are a lot of resources out there that can help you figure it out. plus if you are hosted and choose to do so, you can buy one of those fancy blog templates/masthead thingies….that’s what i’m working towards. i just need to find a host that offers everything i need for a good price….and lets me drop the f-bomb whenever i want!



Leave a Reply

