h1

I’m such a Debbie Downer

January 9, 2008

With all of this holiday let down/BFF leaving me/meds kicking in….I forgot to mention one of the greatest events to happen in the casa de filthy laundry as of yet.

I know.

How could I do such a thing?

Stop being such a pissy pants and get on with the good stuff already, you say.

I said, I know.

Those of you who know me since the first blog that I started in June 2006, know that I have been sweating the potty training for almost that long.

Remember the poems I used to write?

As I sit you down to pee
I pray the Lord you won’t release
Upon the tiles beside the loo
Oh, please not again on my shoes!

___________________________________

God grant me the serenity
to accept the fact that I cannot change Fa’s mind about sitting on the potty;
the courage to change her fears;
and the wisdom to know she won’t be wearing diapers to college.

Remember that I had approximately 25 Potty Posts and 35 Doodie Posts?

(For those of you who don’t know them, I will bring some of them back just to celebrate this amazing occurrence!)

Remember how I stressed?

Well, yeah she’s been potty trained since the summer now, which explains the lack of mention of this subject. It kinda got ignored since she’s been so friggin’ good at it.

However, I neglected to give this next tidbit the celebration it truly deserved. (Those of you in the throes of potty training will revel in my joy!)

We RETIRED the Princess Potty on her 4th birthday!

No shit.

It’s stored away in the basement. Fa doesn’t use it anymore! Ever.

She went through a long stretch where she would only poo on the princesses. Not anymore my friends! She poos on the big pot like the rest of potty trained civilization!

Oh Rapture!

No more dumping the contents out and disinfecting until you want to sneeze from the odor…

No more TOUCHING doodie by accident!

No more tripping over that stupid contraption in the middle of the night.

No more! No more! No more!!!

I’m free.

We are let loose (pardon the pun) of the restraints of those damn princesses. (I hated those bitches.)

Mocking me every time I had to clean the crap outta their little purple cup.

Smirking at my pain.

Tramps.

Well, they are put away in the princess tower of death for all of eternity. Those little whores.

Ah, the little celebrations of motherhood.

Revel with me, won’t you?

22 comments

  1. most excellent


  2. Woohoo!!!!! So excited for you.

    I don’t know how you girl mammas do it what with all that princess crap and all.


  3. That is beyond wonderful! I can’t imagine mucking with the potty – and think – I get to do it all over again with my son ha ha!

    Miss E is dry at night now, that’s our potty training coup these days!


  4. awesome!


  5. Oh yay!

    There’s nothing like getting rid of those stinking potty training potties. Hate. them.


  6. congratulations!!!!! Kiddo wouldn’t use his little potty, I had to get one of those cushion seat inserts into the big potty and a very sturdy stool. hehehehehe


  7. Wow! I told you that it would happen! See we have been blessed with children much like ourselves, in that we do things in our own time. And we certianly do not respond to pressure. I think that’s why we gel so well. Well my sista separtated at birth, congrats!


  8. YAY!!!! I knew the two of you could do it!!! **clapping my hands**


  9. YAY!!!! I knew the two of you could do it!!! **clapping my hands**


  10. oh yeah, g/friend! that DOES rock. Yay for fa and for you!

    and i TOTALLY adore your new digs.


  11. This is great! I am so glad that it all worked out and that stress is behind you all 🙂


  12. I went through the potty chair with the first one. We (mostly me) hated it. So I got one of those seats that attaches to the regular toilet so they don’t fall in.

    That and a step did the trick.

    Yea for you and Fa!


  13. That is GREAT news!

    Pooing on the princesses though – that is an awesome image.


  14. It is so sad what excites us, no?

    Our old potty was retired to the car, where it has saved us on many a road trip (I line it with kitty litter bags). I know, I know…I’m a genius.


  15. your header rocks!!!!
    loved the post…hilarious! i’ve peed on my shoe before…don’t tell anyone, ok? see…it only happens when i’ve had too much wine!!!
    xo


  16. Oh honey, I am soooo excited for you!
    Your new header is so sassy and gawgeous! I huge puffy heart the sexy bra and happiness of the header!
    Congratulations to y’all for the banishing of doodie diapers and princess potty! I can’t wait until I am rid of diapers.. but he’s only 15 months, that might be pushing it a bit. *sigh*
    CONGRATS!!!


  17. Yay! That’s a long time now!


  18. “only poo on the princess” might be my new favorite phrase.


  19. So if I come over, I am expected to use the big potty? WTH? What will I do? Will you bring it out of retirement for me? Please??????

    Love your writing. No shit. I do.


  20. That is super fantastic news!


  21. woooooooohooooooooo wtg Fa…this is a big accomplishment…and isn’t it such a relief? (no pun intended…lol)


  22. that’s so fantastic! i can’t wait till those days! Zander is finally regaining interest in the potty, and has been peeing at least once a day on it or the toilet with his seat since Friday. and, unlike our first attempt, instead of us asking him to sit on it he will come up to us and say he has to pee on the potty!



Leave a Reply

