h1

Potty Training Round 5,989*

January 10, 2008

(*Initially written on 2/11/07 and I am reposting it here to celebrate our accomplishments! Looking at it now, I sound like a madwoman, and I didn’t see it then, but she was so getting ready and I should have just stayed calm…But I didn’t of course)

Ok, listen to this. Yesterday, Fa wanted to be nekkid ALL FRIGGIN DAY!
Yes.

Nude.
Bare ass.
Naked as a jaybird.
Nudie, like the day she was born.
All. Day. Long.

This started in the middle of the week. I found her naked in the living room on more than one occasion.

I approached this new milestone in many different ways.

I congratulated her on being able to FINALLY undress herself.

I ignored it.

I laughed.

I warned that we only do this at HOME.

I gently reminded her NOT to pee on my COUCH!

Then, I finally asked what she was thinking. After all, we can’t be nekkid all day long. We do leave the house once in a while and she does need to be clothed in order to go to school.

Her answer plain and simple. “Practicing to go on the potty Mom!”

Like, “You stooooopid jerk, what the hell do you think I’m doing…?”

So Friday, we went to go buy a little potty made especially for her. A Princess Potty. Complete with Snow White, Ariel, Cinderella and all the other women she really could care less about.

She was ecstatic! Excited to have it and raring to go…in it.

Saturday, she woke up and refused to put her clothes on. I didn’t argue, I figured ‘you go girl’, make it easy and just be naked…no panties to pull on and off and you can just plop a squat and be ready.

We trekked downstairs and she sat on that thing every chance she got. She watched TV on it, read and even ate her snack sitting on it. Did she put her goods in it?

Nope. Not once. All day.

She held it in. Again. All day.

After a while (hours upon hours), I could tell she needed to go. She sat and squeezed but only a dribble came out. We cheered and yelled and danced and sang nonetheless, and I gave her a sticker to put on the potty..that’s where she wants to put her reward stickers…On the pot.

The Pro came home from work to find her naked still and eating her dinner on the couch. I knew it was only a matter of time. She had been eating and drinking all day long. It had to come out some time.

She finally broke down. And peed. On my couch.

With that, she became embarrassed and threw the fit of all fits. Screaming and crying and yelling at The Pro to leave the house. She threw her toys and was enraged at it all.

With her begging for a Pamper, I dressed her and she peed.

She relaxed within seconds and that was that.

What the?

Don’t get it?

She refuses to sit on the pot. The big pot. The princess pot. Any pot out there…she just won’t do it.

The next size up from her Pampers size 6 is Depends.

8 comments

  1. Heh, it just sometimes takes them a while to get the hang of it. I remember those days well!


  2. Hang in there. I’m sure she’ll figure it out sooner or later.


  3. dont you feel all warm and fuzzy now that the princess potty is gone and the nakey days are behind you?

    whoohoo for fa and for you.


  4. here’s my advice…from my sister, a child psychologist. don’t give her the diaper. it’s better for her to pee/poo on the floor than to pee/poo in the diaper…don’t go back…just move forward


  5. I remember this post! You both have come a long way. Are you sure you do not want another baby?!?!?!~?


  6. What a pretty header! Isn’t that totally cool to look back and see where you were. Which of course makes you appreciate all the more where you are today.


  7. I am so not looking forward to this phase! Hang in there, sugar.


  8. Sounds like she’s getting ready!
    I bet it does feel like after size 6 it’s Depends! Don’t worry, it won’t get to that, even though it feels like that is where you’re heading!



Leave a Reply

