h1

Sometimes stuff is just so cool

January 14, 2008

It all started in the early 90’s.

I was teaching dance to a company of beautiful dancers and I choreographed a piece to “La Vie Boheme”. We competed and we won first place.

The girls loved the music. So I introduced them to the musical RENT. We danced to different songs from the soundtrack such as “Seasons of Love” and even “Take Me or Leave Me”.

I was dying to see the Broadway production so, I asked my company girls if they wanted to come with me.

We went.

We fell in love.

Obsessively, I saw it a few more times after that.

Then, a few years later the movie came out.

I was impressed. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a movie be as close to good as the actual live production. But this was close.

As you know, I am a sucker for musicians. Always have been. And I always had a “thing” for the Roger character in the play…But he was just my type in the movie.

So I started following Adam Pascal more closely.

I bought his solo CD’s and really got into the music. Civilian is one of my favorite CD’s of all time.

I even went back in August to see him re-live Roger in the play. (swoon!)

I never saw him do his solo stuff live until this weekend. And I’m so sorry I took this long!

He was amazing!

I’m not about to review his entire performance. (His new stuff is amazing and I can’t wait for it to be released!) But I will say, he is personable, amazingly talented, (I love his raspy voice) funny, interesting and still absolutely adorable. I loved hearing him talk to us in between each song. It made him so real.

I am just as in love now as I was back in the day.

I was a little disappointed in the audience, however.

I’ve never seen so many people continue to get up and walk out of the theater during the performance. (At one point he even made a comment to someone leaving, in jest, but still.)

There were a lot of High School kids there and ALL they wanted to hear was RENT songs. How rude.

Yes, he is the best Roger RENT will ever see. But that’s not what he’s all about.

He even performed some other Broadway tunes, rearranged to show off his own take on them. (talent) But he only did one RENT song, “One Song Glory“. And this was the loudest response he received. I was disappointed. He and his partner Larry worked hard on arranging this performance and they were showcasing all of the newer songs which deserved huge applause! And the RENT song got the most attention.

I still wonder how he feels about that.

Anyway, so I’m still in love with my Friday night and I don’t think I’ll ever forget it.

I have the Backyardigan’s special TiVo’ed for myself…not Fa this time around. *snort*

9 comments

  1. hmm may just have to find a way to see Rent. I have seen a few musicals by Andrew Lloyd Weber and the Wizard of Oz … My husband is not a huge fan of the whole break out into song part 🙂 I am glad you get so riled up over it all!


  2. Did I ever mention I was on scholarship with ABT for two years? I was there when they filmed The Turning Point.


  3. You know how I love a good show! The feeling just stays with me for months on end. I am still buzzing over a show I saw a few months ago.

    I am so glad you got to get out and do something adult and ENJOY yourself!


  4. i have actually never seen rent. guess i should make an effort, eh? 😉

    it’s always good to have something to obsess over…


  5. i’m glad you had such a good time. i must confess that i haven’t seen rent. it came to Ottawa for a couple of performances, but we couldn’t go. and, well…we haven’t seen a movie in ages…kids! now you’ve piqued my interest again!

    i’m jealous….they aren’t showing the Backyardigan’s Special here in Canada. i guess we’ll have to wait till “they” see fit to let us see it! 😦


  6. I am glad you had a great time…too bad others couldn’t have given him a chance before walking out…music can move your soul when you allow it to ..


  7. “I was a little disappointed in the audience, however.
    I’ve never seen so many people continue to get up and walk out of the theater during the performance. ”

    I was taught to be respectful of performers when I was a kid. Do you think people just don’t do that anymore??


  8. That is certainly rude to just get up and walk out, at least wait til intermission or something. I never saw Rent, but I would love too.

    Jillian


  9. came back to let you know there is something for you at my house….



Leave a Reply

