h1

For the love of writing

January 24, 2008

Chelle…the love. Tagged me for this meme…The top five reasons why I love to write.

I don’t have a clue.

Really.

I started blogging to journal my life with Fa. And blogging took over after that. My intent changed. I stopped posting pictures of her, I started focusing on life in general. Now, I’m not even sure I want to blog anymore.

But for Chelle, I’d do anything.

1. I write to vent.
Sirioulseeee. I totally write to get it outta my head. It spins in there otherwise and I get itchy. I love to watch the words flow out like water through my fingers when I really need to say something. It comes so fast that I sometimes can’t type to keep up. If it weren’t for bouncing my thoughts off of you and off here…I don’t know if I’d be able to cope otherwise. I totally mean it, dudes.

2. I write because secretly, I wish I was a real, published writer.
One of my wildest dreams is to publish children’s books. I mean really. If Katie Couric and John Lithgow can do it so can I. I have a few stories written already, and one that I just can’t seem to get out of my head and onto the screen…But I really wish that would happen one day.

3. I write because I want Fa to have something of me when she grows up.
When I started blogging I had just finished the journal (hand written) of Fa’s first two years. As you ALL know, one of my biggest fears is that I would not be here for Fa and she’d have no information about me as her mother. How I felt, what I thought…all that. I wanted her to have something tangible of me that I don’t have of my own mother. At the time, I wanted her to know how hard motherhood was for me but how much I adored her. And so she would truly know that I never WANTED to leave her…etc. Morbid kinda. Now, I blog/write to keep the memories not just for her, but for me as well.

4. I write on this blog because I have met so many cool people that I feel so connected to, I don’t want to lose them.
You guys have made a difference in my life. You have no idea. You have made me feel ‘normal’ (I hate that word) and not so alone in the crap that I fear and think and do…as a woman, as a mother, as a human who has suffered some serious loss…I don’t know what I’d do without you all there to support my rants and fears and share my joys and crazy days. And I love love love reading your writing. All of you. You inspire me every day to keep going and live life to the fullest. And even when this shit gets hard, you let me know that you go through it too. You share your intimate thoughts and you trust me with your words. And I have written certain things in the hopes that one day someone else will find my words and realize they are not alone. That would be an amazing thing.

5. I write because I love to read. And they are so connected that I feel it rounds me out.
Books are my drug. I love buying books and holding them in my hands before I start to read, and wonder what is between those pages. I love to think of the characters and how their stories transpire…and the author and what they were thinking to write what they have in between those pages. I love imagining the words come together as letters, then sentences…complete thoughts…It’s amazing how letters form as books. Amazing I tell you. Reading settles me at night and inspires me. Reading teaches me and gives me ideas. Writing encapsulates all that I have ingested and helps me to organize my thoughts.

As a reading teacher, I love to share my love of books with my kids and teach them that the words are not difficult or scary. They are the thoughts of someone else. The images that someone was talented enough to get on paper. And we are lucky enough to get to share that. We all are writers and readers. We write every day without even realizing it. Same with reading. Reading and writing are a part of us as human beings and it can really be fun to do.

Have I made any sense whatsoever?

Okay.

So I tag anyone who wants to try this. And please, if I have inspired you to try this meme, let me know so I can link to you here.

Thank you. This was tough and not very well thought out…I must go breathe.

11 comments

  1. wow ,what an amazing list. I am going to give this a try in a day or 2. I will let you know how it turns out. I want you to know that YOU inspire ME!! Yessss you do, so don’t shake your head..lol.

    Your love for Fa just floats off the words you write so intelligently….and I have told you before that I can see how much inner strength you must have…even when YOU don’t see it…

    Keep up the great work!


  2. yes, this truly IS an amazing list. and i would be pathetically sad if you stopped blogging. i look forward to popping by every morning to see how you are doing.

    you are a special person, and my world is richer for having you and your writings in it.


  3. I blog for a lot of those same reasons. I don’t blog about my children nearly enough, though. I quit posting pics of them long ago, and as they’ve gotten older, I haven’t posted much about them at all. I think I am going to make one of my writing goals to change that. I don’t think I’ll do the meme, but you have inspired me to write a bit more about my children 🙂


  4. Makes total sense! I blog for some of the very same reasons. Great list!!


  5. For not knowing why, you certainly did a great job with this meme. Excellent blogger, that’s what you are!!

    ~xo


  6. I love this list. It’s the best venting post around and you truly do meet the coolest people!!!!!


  7. When gram died, we found a journal she wrote in 1936.
    A few sentences each day.

    We were mesmerized. Made me realize I need to journal more of our every day happening. Probably should do a private blog, just for that purpose.


  8. grr I have had this window open to your page since YESTERDAY! What a day! Those are fine amazing reasons to write. I know for one I am glad you do, because oddly and not in the creepy way, I cannot imagine not having you here.


  9. May I add, as a reader of your work, that I am glad you write – because you are very good at it.


  10. You are so right. I am so glad you find the time to blog about your life. You are a great writer!


  11. You are a fabulous writer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Huggies



Leave a Reply

